Maribou Great

its been a long while since I blogged been away in Ibiza when I came back I’ve had a few tracks to go through,

Maribou State has been one of the highlights of my catch up session.

The Clown ft Pedestrian (something I waxed lyrical about) has been remixed by Tom Demac taking it from a light airy dance floor filler to a dark 4 4 midnight head nodder, it shows what a great label Counter is, what to come to expect when its part of the enigmatic non compliant Ninja Tune dynasty. Maribou State will join their list of lauded artist upon release of the new album “Portraits”

https://soundcloud.com/mixmag-1/premiere-maribou-state-the-clown-feat-pedestrian-tom-demac-remix

Wallflower from the album “portraits” released today (1st of June) is sheer class, a lesson in how to make non confirmative electronic music. the first time I listen to this I actually felt my self let out a little whelp. it feels like an anthem building and building with messed up horns, reversed basslines, distorted vocals and amazing production without a doubt this will appear in my end of year best of 2015 show

https://soundcloud.com/mariboustate/wallflower

out on Technicolour comes U with their release “our place”  from the EP “we decide who comes in” it starts with an intentionally distorted record scratch creating an atmosphere of darkness and preparation for what’s about to come. exorcist Tecno. swirling distorted 4 4, the kind the draws you in and takes you to another place on the dance floor with your fist pumping in front of your face ,away until your mate taps you on your shoulder to pass you a bottle of water

https://soundcloud.com/technicolour-music/u-our-place-1

Leave a comment