Freestyle Beguile

about 3 months ago I waxed lyrical about a 7in re release on Freestyle Records Ginger Johnson and his African messengers, well they have only gone and re released the whole album ” African party“. Ginger Johnson was the mentor to the late great Fela Kuti. if you look through youtube you can find clips of them supporting the Rolling Stones in Hyde Park. one of my listeners actually took the time to thank me because she had seem them with her Father at that gig and it brought back memories.

Till they released this little gem to be perfectly honest I hadn’t heard of Ginger Johnson before.

I have been waiting for this release ever since and boy was it worth the wait. originally released in the late 60’s it feels like an African drum fest mixed with jazz influences from the golden era of Blue note. its completely infectious full of African chanting and beguiling sax. A pure party album as the name suggests. I defy anyone not to get pulled in.

I’d hate to suggest things but a remix album would be a great addition to this release (ala Peterson style did with Sonziera).

(out 22nd June)

https://soundcloud.com/freestyle-records/01-ginger-johnson-and-his

Speedometer have just released a killer EP on FreestyleNo Turning back ft James James” the title track is a mid tempo jazzy floor filler. that will get those hovering on the edge of any dance floor to make the transition. The vocal is smooth and has a hook that will having you singing along. If I was honest I like the original as a listener but the on fire Reflex revision is the club DJ’s friend.”Orisha’s Party” another cut on the EP is a proper funky track that would grace any funk set. I will have to play this on alternate weeks to make sure both versions get heard. it hits the shelves on 29th June.

http://www.kudosrecords.co.uk/release/FSRCD112/Speedometer_No_Turning_Back.html

Leave a comment